zen2
“When the well’s dry, we know the worth of water.” – Benjamin Franklin

Most of us are probably guilty of getting so caught up in the every day goings on, whether it be taking care of our families, work or some other endeavor, that we neglect to take care of ourselves. And many of us neglect ourselves day after day until our well is dry.

We’re all busy and finding the time to take care of ourselves can be challenging but if you don’t make the time, eventually you wear yourself down to the point that you are living in a fog and don’t care about anyone or anything. 

I should know. I’m very guilty of neglecting myself. At least I used to be. It’s in my DNA. I grew up with my mom always taking care of everyone else most of the time neglecting herself. And while I appreciate the sacrifices she made for me and my sister’s time and time again, as an adult I now know that it wasn’t in her best interest or ours. If you can’t take care of your mind, body and soul then you’re not at your best for everyone else.

zen1

 Within the last year I began to take care of myself better by making time for exercise, me time and fun.  I’ve got to know myself better and learn what I needed-not just to function but to flourish. And I was the happiest I had ever been.

In the last 4 or 5 months I also learned that self-care isn’t a one time deal. For the first half of 2016 I did good with making time for self-care. As life got busier, like it often does, I began to neglect myself once again. Soon I had gained some weight back, wasn’t sleeping and noticed  hat I was getting sick more often than I had been.

When the new year came I made it one of my resolutions to make self-care a priority and so far it’s working well. I feel good and I’ve lost 8 lbs.

I’ve found that the best way to promote self-care is to implement small self-care activities into your daily routine.

The following are some small self-care activities that you can fit into a small amount of time and usually have little to no cost. Pick one from each category and incorporate it into your life this week.

mind


For the Mind

  1. Scratch off an item on your “to-do” list that’s been there forever and that you’re honestly never going to do.
  2. Make a decision based on your heart if you usually use your head or vice versa.
  3. Fix an annoyance at home that’s been bothering you..whether it be a drawer that’s stuck or a blown light bulb.
  4. Take any negative people off your social media accounts. On Facebook you can just unfollow them if you don’t want to delete them completely.
  5. Declutter. If you have clothes that you haven’t worn in the least 6 months, donate it. Not only is declutter good for your mind but donating items to those that may need it is good for the soul.

For the Body

  1. Twerk it out. No seriously! Put on your favorite Bruno Mars song and shake yo booty!
  2. Go for a walk.
  3. Narrow your food choices. Pick two healthy breakfasts, lunches and dinners to rotate during the week.
  4. Make one small change to your diet. Drink and extra glass of water your eat an extra serving of veggies.
  5. Take naps. Even just 15-30 minute naps will reduce your sleep debt and leave you refreshed and ready to take on the world.

For the Soul

  1. Help someone.
  2. Splurge. Buy yourself that Marc Jacobs lipstick you’ve been eying.
  3. Go on a date…with yourself. Spend time alone doing something you enjoy whether that be reading, visiting a museum or taking a hot bath.
  4. Choose to spend your time with positive people that enrich your life.
  5. And last but not least, let people help you! You don’t have to do it all! Let your husband cook dinner or your co-worker handle that client.

With a little bit of self-care and attention you’ll feel more connected to yourself which allows your connections with others to be better. You’ll be able to bask in small pleasures and nothing with seem as hard as it did before.

Take care of you, beautiful.
xo.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

