I’ve often joked about needing my “beauty sleep” and as much as I like to sleep you can imagine my excitement when I learned that beauty sleep was a real thing.

Yes…6-8 hours of restful sleep can improve you appearance! How? Because it’s during this time that your body heals and repairs itself. Getting a good nights sleep affects your overall health and well-being. Lack of sleep can make it hard for your body to fight off diseases for instance.

Here’s some easy habits to incorporate into your daily routine to help you get a restful nights sleep and wake up feeling your best!

Wake up at the same time every day.

Most of us to have to travel to work on week days do this anyways, but it’s a good idea to keep that same schedule on the weekends as well. Waking up and going to bed at the same time every day is shown to help you sleep better.

Workout early in the day.

This is a good idea so that your body has time throughout the day to burn off all that adrenaline that you build when working out. I find that working out in the morning also helps me be more productive during the day making me more tired at night.

Limit your caffeine intake.

Especially later in the day. For obvious reasons.

Catch up on social media outside of the bedroom.

I’m the world’s worst for laying in bed and scrolling through Facebook and next thing I know it’s an hour past my bed time. It’s so easy to loose time on social media when you should be sleeping. One thing that has helped me is looking through social media on the couch before bed and not even taking my phone with me to my bedroom.

Give yourself time to wind down before getting into bed.

Don’t try to go to bed right after nightly chores. My routine consists of a shower, nightly skincare routine, preparing for the next day and then I sit down a catch up on my DVR or on social media. It helps me relax and before I know it I’m ready for bed. This could also mean reading a book or simply a hot bath and then straight to bed. Whatever you need to decompress before going to bed.

Create the right sleep environment.

Temperature for me is probably the biggest thing. I can’t sleep at night if I get too hot so at night we turn down the thermostat a little bit from what it’s kept on when we’re awake. Also, eliminate noise. We use a fan to help eliminate the sounds from outside or from our cat running through the house at 3 in the morning. Room darkening shades are another good investment in getting a good nights sleep. Although we’re up most mornings beore the sun comes up anyways, it does a good job of keeping out light from street lights or cars.

Invest in a good mattress and pillows.

Ever walk down the pillow aisle and wonder what the difference is? I used to think that they were all the same. Wrong! Different pillows target different needs and everyone is different so find one that works for you!  Same applies when buying a mattress. Also, remember to flip your mattress when recommended and buy a new one every 8-10 years!

Hope these tips help you get some quality beauty sleep! Let me know below if you have any other tips to share!

Sweet dreams, beautiful!
xo.

 

 

One thought on “Get Your Beauty Sleep!

Leave a Reply

