So, it’s been a few weeks since I’ve given you a dose of my insightful knowledge, huh? You guys know that life can be cray cray sometimes and things like blogging take a back seat to the more important aspects of my time. None the less, I’m here now to indulge in a little beauty chat! Specifically, I’ll be talking skin care and even more specifically…the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Mist.

If I had to pick a favorite beauty brand, Tarte would probably be it. Not only do they carry some amazing skin care like the Frxxxtion stick I’ve mentioned  but their makeup is fantastic as well. Their Amazonian Clay blushes are my absolute favorite as well as a couple of their eye shadow palettes and their Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara!

But I’m not here to talk makeup!

Wait…why am I here?!?

Oh yea.

Rainforest of the Sea Mist!?!

20170306_174525

The description on Tarte.com claims that this is a 4-in-1 setting spray, primer, hydrating mist and skin refresher that will make your makeup last for 12 hours while minimizing the look of pores, shine and redness.

My thoughts?

I used this under and on top of my makeup for several days so that I could get a good feel for it. In my opinion, it does most everything it claims to do. It worked really well as a primer to blur my pores and did seem to dull some of my redness but not so much so that I didn’t need to use my usual color corrector. It did help my makeup to last most of day..I wear makeup on average about 12 hours a day and although it didn’t look as flawless as it did upon application, it still looked decent even after working out for an hour.

Would I purchase it?

No. And there’s a couple reasons why.

It did nothing for my shine. I have combination skin and this made me appear way more shiny than my usual primer. I had to blot several times throughout the day when I normally don’t at all. Even on my drier days…this still had too much hydration for me. I think it would work wonders for someone with really dry skin though. Secondly, the spray was way to harsh for me. It was more of a squirt than a mist. The first time I used it for a setting spray I had to fix some of my makeup. I even tried holding it further away and it still had the same outcome. I ended up spraying it in my hands and rubbing it on my face to use a primer and using a different nozzle when using it later on to set my makeup.

Overall,  I think this would be an exceptional product for someone with dry skin if Tarte revamped the nozzle. It just didn’t work for me.

Stay beautiful.
xo.

 

5 thoughts on “Just My 2 Cents: Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Mist

Leave a Reply

